Free delivery for orders over €500 (including VAT) in metropolitan France. Favorites My Account Shopping cart : 0 €

Les Pagodes de Cos 2019

Les Pagodes de Cos 2019

34,00 / unit

2ème Grand Cru Classé de 1855 – Saint-Estèphe

“The Pagodes de Cos d’Estournel have abundant aromas of blackcurrant cream and floral notes mixed with woody and spicy scents. Juicy, succulent and remarkably fresh and well-defined, it deserves special attention from consumers. »
Robert Parker

The second wine of Château Cos d’Estournel, the Pagodes de Cos allow lovers of young wines to have a superb first approach to the great super second of Saint-Estèphe.

Autres millésimes

Clear
  • Livraison offerte à partir de 500€ TTC
  • Paiement 100% sécurisé
  • Emballage sécurisé

History

In 1791, on the death of his father, Louis Joseph Gaspard Lacoste de Maniban, Marquis d'Estournel, inherited at the age of 29 the family property located in the southern part of Saint-Estèphe, in the locality of Cos, a word of Gascon origin meaning "hill of stones". A man of passion, he will devote his life to it, not hesitating to defy convention to improve his wines. His success was dazzling, allowing him to export to faraway places, notably India, earning him the nickname of "Maharajah of Saint-Estèphe". In 1830, to celebrate his success, he surmounted his cellars of Chinese pagodas, which were to become the exotic image of Cos, and had a seventeenth-century gate from a palace in Zanzibar. The Reybier family, who are now the owners, perpetuate this taste for innovation, notably with the installation in 2008 of the very first gravity-fed Bordeaux winery, so that from the reception of the harvest to bottling, the entire process takes place without the slightest pump!

Terroir

Cos in Gascony means hill of pebbles. Cos d'Estournel is therefore placed on a heap of gravel mixed with calcareous clay. This excess of gravel, specific to Cos, forces the vine to plunge its roots deeper to draw its needs from the soil. Making the vine suffer gives great wines and Cos does it very well. The grape varieties are 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot and a few percent Cabernet Franc. The vines are spread over about thirty plots and have an average age of 35 years. They are planted in high density at 9,000 vines per hectare.

Vinification

Second wine, it is produced from the vine in the cellar with the same care and essentially the same means as the great wine, but from the youngest vines, most of them less than 20 years old, vines which a few years later will produce the great wine. The grapes are harvested by hand in small crates. After a demanding sorting process, the vinification is carried out in the new gravity-fed cellar using 72 thermo-regulated stainless steel vats from 19 to 155 hl. All the handling is carried out without any pumping and by gravity using four 100 hl lift vats. The wine is aged for 12 months in stave oak barrels (40 to 50% new).

Additional information

Weight 1 kg
Classement

2ème Grand Cru Classé de 1855

Culture

Raisonnée

Grape variety

69% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 1% Petit Verdot

Vineyard size

15 hectares

Annual production

80 000 bouteilles

Harvest

Manuelles

Colour

Year

Volume

75 cl

Rating

Format

, , ,

Taste

, , , , ,

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Les Pagodes de Cos 2019”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

VINS DU DOMAINE

VINS SIMILAIRES

X

Livraison offerte dès 500€ TTC de commande en France métropolitaine Favoris Mon compte Panier : 0 €

Les Pagodes de Cos 2019

Les Pagodes de Cos 2019

34,00 / unité

2ème Grand Cru Classé de 1855 – Saint-Estèphe

« Les Pagodes de Cos d’Estournel présentent d’abondants arômes de crème de cassis et des notes florales mêlées avec des senteurs boisées et épicées. Juteux, succulent et remarquablement frais et bien défini, il mérite une attention particulière de la part des consommateurs. »
Robert Parker

Second vin du Château Cos d’Estournel, les Pagodes de Cos permettent aux amateurs de vins jeunes d’avoir une superbe première approche au grand super second de Saint-Estèphe.

Autres millésimes

Effacer
  • Livraison offerte à partir de 500€ TTC
  • Paiement 100% sécurisé
  • Emballage sécurisé

Histoire

En 1791, à la mort de son père, Louis Joseph Gaspard Lacoste de Maniban, Marquis d’Estournel, hérite à 29 ans de la propriété familiale située dans la partie sud de Saint-Estèphe, au lieu-dit Cos, mot d’origine gasconne signifiant "colline de cailloux". Homme de passion, il y consacrera sa vie, n'hésitant pas à braver les conventions pour faire progresser ses vins. Le succès fut fulgurant, lui permettant des exportations lointaines, notamment aux Indes, lui attirant le surnom de "Maharadjah de Saint-Estèphe". En 1830, pour célébrer son succès, il surmonte ses chais de pagodes chinoisantes, qui seront dès lors l'image exotique de Cos, et fait venir d'un palais de Zanzibar une porte du XVIIe siècle. La famille Reybier aujourd'hui propriétaire perpétue ce goût pour l'innovation, notamment avec l'installation en 2008 du tout premier chai bordelais gravitaire, de telle façon que de la réception des vendanges à la mise en bouteille, l'ensemble du processus se déroule sans la moindre pompe !

Terroir

Cos en gascon signifie colline de cailloux. Cos d’Estournel est donc placé sur un amoncellement de graves mêlées d'argiles calcaires. Cet excédent de graves, spécifique de Cos, oblige donc la vigne à plonger plus profondément ses racines pour puiser ses besoins dans le sol. Faire souffrir la vigne donne de grands vins et Cos y arrive très bien. L’encépagement est de 60% cabernet-sauvignon, 40% merlot, quelques pourcents de cabernet-franc. Les vignes étendues sur une trentaine de parcelles et d'une moyenne d'âge de 35 ans sont plantées en forte densité à 9 000 pieds/ha.

Vinification et élevage 

Second vin, il est produit de la vigne au chai avec les mêmes soins et essentiellement les mêmes moyens que le grand vin mais à partir des vignes les plus jeunes, pour la plupart âgées de moins de 20 ans, vignes qui quelques années plus tard produiront le grand vin. Les vendanges sont manuelles en cagettes. Après un tri exigeant, la vinification est conduite de façon parcellaire dans le nouveau chai gravitaire à l’aide de 72 cuves inox thermo-régulées de 19 à 155 hl. L’ensemble des manipulations s’effectue sans aucun pompage et par gravité au moyen de 4 cuves-ascenseur de 100 hl. L’élevage de 12 mois est conduit en barriques de chêne merrain (40 à 50% neuves).

Informations complémentaires

Poids 1 kg
Classement

2ème Grand Cru Classé de 1855

Culture

Raisonnée

Encépagement

69% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 1% Petit Verdot

Taille du vignoble

15 hectares

Production annuelle

80 000 bouteilles

Vendanges

Manuelles

Couleur

Millésime

Volume

75 cl

Note

Format

, , ,

Goût

, , , , ,

Avis

Il n’y a pas encore d’avis.

Soyez le premier à laisser votre avis sur “Les Pagodes de Cos 2019”

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

VINS DU DOMAINE

VINS SIMILAIRES

X